Life in Negative Splits

If you’re a runner, you might be familiar with the term ‘negative splits’. It refers to running the second half of a race at a faster pace than the first. It’s a strategy many runners pursue, since it’s considered to be one key to faster overall times. I was contemplating this concept a few weeks ago after I had the unplanned fortune to run a negative split during a 10K trail run.

As a woman of a certain age, I thought how this concept might be applied to life. You see, I’m not just approaching middle age. I’m firmly and fully in the midst of it. There’s a time, maybe in your late thirties, where you can stave off the notion of middle age. I mean, 70 is the new 50, so surely 35 isn’t considered middle age. Then 40 comes, and you think, well, 80. Eighty’s not so bad. But a few years in to the decade, you really can’t ignore it anymore. You’re there. Halfway through, perhaps more. Deal with it.RunningMan

One way I want to deal with it is with this idea of negative splits – but not regarding time. I certainly don’t want the second half to go faster than the first (although I suspect it may feel that way). But from a performance standpoint, what a great idea. I want the second half to be better, more focused and intentional than the first.

There’s a sense of not wanting to be wasteful with my time. This is usually what I’m thinking about while I’m binge-watching missed episodes of The Good Wife on Amazon Prime. Clearly, I still have some work to do.

And that’s kind of the point. I do still have things I want to do, things I want to explore, experience, and discover. I want to keep thinking that’s the case and not let time just drift by. As a child, I recall relaxing on a raft in the ocean, eyes closed, not concerned about much until I woke with a start to find that the currents had moved me far from where my family was on the shore. It sure could take a lot of effort and time to get back to where I wanted to be.

Drifting isn’t all bad. Sometimes it’s a path to finding something you never even knew existed. I’ve done a fair amount of that thus far, and thankfully most of my drifts have led to positive results. But I know myself better now and suspect that mindless drifting is unlikely to lead me to the finish line, arms raised, smile on my face, satisfied with my life in negative splits.

Muse with Me!

